Posted in On the Path

Robes and Streetwear

Dreamt i met a monk his robes were mixed with streetwear and I felt I could help him by sewing robes for him – he did not approach me, then i met a nun and her robes were nearly streetwear with an upper robe remaining- walking nobly to me, she invited me to eat at her table and i followed her – knowing that i would sew robes for her. i wore full robes; {clothing was in short supply for regular folks, who were used to just taking what they needed from others] Cool, dream huh! Smile
Dream details:
I was in a room crowded with people then i decided to leave and started packing. There were random clothes around that were not mine, i picked up a thick knit curved skirt, saying: "this is not mine, where did it come from?" I went into the hallway to see lots of rooms and saw a monk come out of his room, marroon tibetan outer robes and he wore gray track pants underneath. He did not approach but look embarassed. I went back to my room but found partiers had invaded and there were men there so i left. then was walking outside and saw a nun with just one inner shirt and assorted streetwera modestly covering, she invited me to eat with her, and I agreed and followed her, looking around i saw my kid followed me ( I was wearing my yellow cheongsam).
Author:

I am a Bhikshuni ordained in Mahayana Chinese Buddhist tradition. I'm currently translating Vinaya sutras from the Chinese Mahayana Tripitaka.