Posted in Dharma Crafting Instruments

Vajra Crown and tassles




Vajra Crown and tassles

Originally uploaded by Shi Hong Yang

This is a Vajra Crown, my first effort, the crown is lightweight, made of mesh, flocked ribben, felt, ribbons, embroidery, tuille, organza, country solid with iron on letters.

There is no pattern for this. I made one from studying existing and ancient ones, I have only handled my tonsure master’s one only one time to help him store it in my shelves. It was a lot of work but next time I will make more of a easy care one rather than using flocked ribbon that can’t be washed or in the weather. This one is very portable. I use a small hatbox to store it.

Author:

I am a Bhikshuni ordained in Mahayana Chinese Buddhist tradition. I'm currently translating Vinaya sutras from the Chinese Mahayana Tripitaka.