Posted in Buddhist Health and Wellness

Caring for your bald noggin

Baldies is not derogitory, just a fact for us Sangha ppl who must shave daily or every 2 weeks, not commenting on anyone else’s state of hair or no-hair.  Once ur in the bald way you face unique problems with head care.  And if you have to shave off your eybrows (I don’t do that, came unmindfully close tho’) you have to use a trimmer for that. 

Well, who tells ya??? Nobody.

I never knew that I could have a dry scalp much like babies cradle cap. So I use mineral oil, hair scalp treatment or pile on the intensive care lotions for sensative skin (those have drying or irritating scents to them), the best is head n shoulders shampoo conditioner, professional scalp treatments from beauty supply store or beauty parlor.

Covering your head in the drying winter air, must do it! Heat loss is rapid and quick and you don’t need a bad cold to happen or worse.  Also key note NEVER go out in winter with a damp just shaven head… no matter how much of a hurry your in.  I got frostbite on my head doing that, it burns like oven burns from touching a hot cookie sheet…oooh.

Well I am happy to say, that little conair head shaver is nifty! I had trouble with bumpys at first due to my unfamiliarity, enjoying daily shaving to keep the noggin perfectly smooth! Wow, a big difference between that old wahl peanut and this; hope it lasts!

Why is this important to us Sangha ppl, well we try to conserve our resources in our daily life.  And doing that means we try to reduce our carbon footprint as much as we can. I needed a shaver that was portable and not dependent on electricity as this one holds the charge for 3 MONTHS, it fit the bill nicely. 

I ‘m not skilled at using the single blade razor like my overseas sisters. I never was taught to do it. It is an art, dangerous cuts do happen, I need to learn it from someone who knows what they are doing. And there are few that still use them around this area.  I tried the double edge disposable shaver, the 5 blade shavers and still got scary cuts…so thus this rechargeable shaver.

Author:

I am a Bhikshuni ordained in Mahayana Chinese Buddhist tradition. I'm currently translating Vinaya sutras from the Chinese Mahayana Tripitaka.